Event is FINISHED

Online Zen Meditation and Philosophy Session in English with Reverend Takafumi Kawakami (75 min.)

Description
Please join our online Zen meditation and philosophy session in English with Rev. Takafumi Zenryu Kawakami (75 min.)

Small group and more direct conversations with participants. Our topic is different each time. It depends on the current situations and participants' condition and questions.

May 29th at 3:30 PM PDT (San Francisco)
May 29th at 6:30 PM EDT (New York)
May 29th at 23:30 / 10:30PM GMT (London)
May 23rd at 6:30 AM SGT (Singapore)
May 23rd at 7:30 AM JST (Kyoto)
May 23rd at 8:30 AM AEDT (Sydney)
May 23rd at 10:30 AM NZDT (Auckland)

We start with the opening.

After the opening discussion, Rev. Takafumi Kawakami will lead guided and silent meditation practices (25 min.)

We will have Q&A and discussion.

Then, he will guide you to a Nanso (body-scan and self-compassion) meditation (10 min.).

At the end, we will have Q& A to wrap up our session.

While you are meditation, I will livestream the view of Shunkoin Temple's garden.

*If you are a doctor/medical worker saving lives from COVID-19, please contact me directly. So you can join the session for free.

*Prior to joining the in-person meditation sessions at Shunkoin Temple, you must attend our online Zen meditation & philosophy sessions at least twice.

About our teacher

Rev. Takafumi Zenryu Kawakami

He is a Zen Buddhist priest and thinker. He serves as the deputy head priest of Shunkoin Temple in Kyoto and annually teach Zen meditation classes and retreats in English to 5,000 – 5,500 visitors to the temple. The participants include various business school groups, including HBS, INSEAD, IESE, Sloan, etc. He co-organizes and co-hosts long-term study abroad programs in Kyoto with various universities from the U.S. His travels and talks have brought his to the likes of MIT, Brown University, Microsoft, TED x Kyoto, Mind & Life Institute’s ISCS & IRI, Eton College, etc. He is a member of the U.S.- Japan Leadership Program by the U.S. – Japan Foundation.
Sun May 30, 2021
7:30 AM - 8:45 AM JST
Add to Calendar
Venue
Online event
Tickets
Donation SOLD OUT ¥1,200
Donation SOLD OUT ¥2,300
Donation SOLD OUT ¥11,000
Organizer
Zen and Self-Cultivation Program with Rev. Takafumi Kawakami
207 Followers

[PR] Recommended information